Low water: Time to hike in the James

Hiking in the James River - Downtown Richmond skylineThe river levels are getting lower by the minute as summer winds down and Central Virginia is behind in the rain total count. Time to go hiking in the James River.

In late Summer 2007, I took several long hikes in the James river between the Powhite Parkway Bridge and Belle Isle. I hopped on rocks normally submerged along the various paths I took – available due to a period of drought and low water levels in the river.

Those hikes left a lasting impression on me and helped fuel my appreciation for the James. The discoveries I made on those hikes continue to drive my quest to explore the river.

See the full story and photos at Richmond on the James

Leave a Reply

