The rope swing tree at Huguenot Flatwater has fallen

The rope swing tree at Huguenot Flatwater had been a constant source of fun and entertainment for thrill-seeking river rats on the James RiverHave you ever spent time down at Huguenot Flatwater on the rope swing? For at least the past 20 years, that tree has been a constant source of fun and entertainment for thrill-seeking river rats on the James River.

I recently learned that the rope swing tree at Huguenot Flatwater had fallen.I recently learned that the tree at Huguenot Flatwater had fallen. I later learned that the tree had fallen in spring of 2010. Regardless, my first thought was that I immediately got a little older. I never swung from the tree, but I’ve watched many knuckleheads swing away. The tree was a rite of passage for many river-goers.

The tree was not innocent. Lives have been lost at that rope swing. The last person was 36-year-old David Gonzalez-Baldizon, 36, of Richmond in May 31, 2009. He was swinging from the rope, dropped in the river, re-surfaced for a few seconds and then went under in water 6.5 feet deep. Rescuers recovered his body about a half-mile down the road at the Z-Dam at Williams Island along Riverside Drive. 

Do you have any memories to share of the rope swing or the old tree?

2 responses to “The rope swing tree at Huguenot Flatwater has fallen

  1. The first time I ever swam in the James river was at the rope swing in the spring of 2004. It was the end of my freshmen year at VCU and a few guys on my floor took me out there with some girls from the floor below us. It was unforgettable fun. The James was something I would never miss out on every again. I proceeded to take others out there to swing off the tree for the next couple of years. Sad to see it has since fallen.

Leave a Reply

